10 Comments
Jul 17, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

Relaxed weekend in the Hawke’s Bay sun - almost got hot!

Struggling to fire this morning, but got some great projects to kick into with potentially awesome social outcomes. Just need this coffee to hit home.

Mini euphoria expected midweek after nailing some milestones and then a weekend in the big A.

Expand full comment
author

Looking forward to hearing more about that euphoric milestone hitting later in the week!

Expand full comment
Jul 18, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

My pleasure this weekend came from a 5km walk, a rare event & my body barely complained; plus getting some long overdue jobs done in my garden. Sun both days was an absolute blessing. I'm finding it a challenge to have deep connection now, my dearest friends have moved & left quite a hole. I know my experience is echoed in the collective & a great sadness arises at that realisation. I'm off to check the local info place to see what new activities I can join in hopes of finding like minded others. I think the covid experience has fostered alienation individually & culturally & this is abetted by our devices & social media. I long for the days when I heard a person's voice & saw their smile unmediated by technology. Reading posts isn't anywhere as warm & uplifting to my heart. And I know there are positives to these technologies, otherwise I wouldn't be here.... 😉

Expand full comment
author

Wonderful to hear about that activity, and I hope even this community offers some sense of connection to like-minded souls. I know it's nothing like the real thing. In my mind's eye I have a dream of growing our community to the point where we could have real-life events for community members to meet every now and again. I'd love that to become a reality.

Expand full comment

Glad you have returned to your running training, Sarb . My positive for the weekend was helping weka parents to feed two new chicks hatched in the middle of winter. They’re looking pretty healthy now after a bad start! My goal this week is to up my exercise routine a bit. It has been too easy to stay inside on these cold days even though my mind tells me otherwise! So thanks for the inspiration Sarb!

Expand full comment
author

Glad the weka chicks are looking good after a tough start. I'm trying to make the choice about whether to take my scheduled run in the wind this morning or the rain this afternoon. Even though neither of these are appealing, I am committed to run :)

Expand full comment

Go this morning as there will probably be wind as well as the rain this afternoon!!

Expand full comment
author

True. It is Wellington.

Expand full comment
author

In more mundane news, I decided it was wiser not to go out for a run today lest I get blown away. But I am looking forward to getting on to a track tomorrow - hopefully. Just a gentle paced run with a faster interval, and then a more sustained interval when I repeat that on Sunday, calves willing. This makes me happy :)

Expand full comment
author
Jul 21, 2022·edited Jul 21, 2022Author

Challenging weather and climate conditions over so many parts of the world over the past few days. I hope we are all staying warm / cool and are comfortable wherever we may be. I came across this interesting article about how to escape the feeling of dread and climate grief: I hope this inspires and makes us think about how to support change: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2022/jul/15/climate-optimism-gen-z

Expand full comment