4 Comments
Jul 24, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

Several years ago I lost a friend who I had been meaning to catch up with and never quite got there. I learnt a lesson along with the regret.

As I get older, more of my friends are now being diagnosed with life threatening illnesses so I am travelling more again for brief visits, dropping in for a free dinner at the other end of the country and prioritising ‘mates’ and good wine.

Seems like my twenties again without the energy.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Shaun - I also get that sense of urgency these days - that time I so precious and to seek out people who matter to me to make sure I spend quality time with them. My family commitments mean that finding that time is hard - and I feel that. But, such is life right now. And I have to work to find those moments, but also without putting too much pressure on myself to make them super-memorable.

Just being is good.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

Like you Sarb I connected with a dear friend walking along the beach this weekend- in the sun. Our time together these days hasnt been regular due to work commitments, family, illnesses, Covid (My family are shielding so our hangouts are very much outside). The biggest disruptor to seeing mates has been the shortened days and the wet wintery Welly weather. It has despite our best efforts made our world infinitely smaller. Yesterday was a Salve. We talked about the rawness of this year. How fatigued we both were from it all. A commonality even though our experiences of the day to day differed. We agreed that this year has been sludgy (as described by Jod Wilson of Practicing Simplicity here https://linktr.ee/practisingsimplicity) in amongst all of the noise we created a sparkle- we had managed to carve out time together-. In that hour we chased away the loneliness and isolation. Our friendship and connection reverberating good vibes into the start of another week. Until the next time..

Expand full comment
author

Just checking in as we enter the back end of the week. I haven't been particularly social after the weekend, but I am hoping to get something set up for the weekend. It's been lovely to do some different physical activity this week, with a new kind of yoga stretching session yesterday, and an upper body functional strength workout today, as well as short meditation sessions sprinkled through the days. I feel set up for the remainder of the week. How are you doing?

Expand full comment