8 Comments
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

Some very well fed cats…

Expand full comment
author

I hope with no feathers sticking out of their mouths! (I think in cartoons - a very Tom-and-Jerry scene popped into my mind)

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Sarb Johal

I’ve been noticing the tui beginning their Spring frenzy too and hearing the bellbirds with their amazing sound. I strolled through my garden today and noticed the buds on my young plum tree are swelling. This means that blossom and leaves aren’t far away. Hopefully this year I get more than one plum from my tree. Love watching the progress of nature through the season.

Expand full comment
author

The seasonal change rhythm is marvellous - I'm looking forward to some slivers of sun (later today hopefully)and all the activity that it awakens

Expand full comment

My observations of nature this week: As a somewhat older Nelson resident have been trying to look after the many hungry birds that have been visiting my little hillside property (fortunately still safe). Their behaviours changed markedly during the days of downpour and slips. sitting upon my wooden bird feeders they were all cooperating as they enjoyed their sugar water. Usually there is a hierarchical feeding frenzy but for the past week eight tui, four bellbirds, numerous finches, waxeyes and sparrows have been peacefully sharing the same food bowls. A lesson here maybe?

Expand full comment
author

What I see in this is that through your repeated offering, the birds perhaps learned that competing for resources wasn't an issue. Scarcity wasn't a problem. Therefore, less conflict. I wonder what other people see in your observation, Juliet? Thanks for sharing. Glad you are safe.

Expand full comment

Exactly. Lots of birds here too.

Expand full comment

I have noticed the ground is supper wet - so wet in places that it won't take any more. Also, lots of people have mud splatters on their shoes!

Expand full comment